Statute of Limitations and Statutory Notice Requirements
When you’re injured as a result of someone else’s negligence, time is not on your side. You have a limited amount of time to file a lawsuit against the negligent party and seek compensation. If you wait too long and fall outside the legally permitted timeframe, your case will almost certainly be dismissed.
To make matters even more complicated, the process isn’t the same if your claim is against the government. You have to follow an entirely separate process to sue the government entity responsible for your injuries.
Learn more about your legal obligations and options under Connecticut law, and to get more personalized advice regarding your claim, call The Dodd Law Firm at 203-272-1883.
The Statute of Limitations Under Connecticut Law
The vast majority of personal injury claims have a two-year statute of limitations in Connecticut. This is applicable both to claims based on negligence and intentional tort claims. For most injuries, the two years begin at the moment the injury is sustained.
For example, if you are involved in a car accident, you know right away that you could be injured. However, in some cases, it is impossible to know that you have been injured right away. Consider, for example, long-term exposure to hazardous chemicals that cause a fatal illness. In situations where the injury is not immediately known, the two-year clock starts when the injury is first noticed or when it should reasonably have been noticed.
Exceptions to the Statute of Limitations
There are several exceptions that halt the two-year statute of limitations. Consider a situation where the negligent party flees the state after the injuries occur. If they leave after the accident but before the lawsuit can reasonably be filed, the clock doesn’t start until they return. If your statute of limitations is extended this way, it still maxes out at seven years.
The statute of limitations is also often paused if the negligent party intentionally obscures what happened and how they caused the accident or your injuries. This is a bit more nuanced and definitely requires the assistance of a Connecticut personal injury attorney.
The statute of limitations differs for product defect claims. In these situations, the statute of limitations is three years.
What is a Statutory Notice?
The statute of limitations described above applies to claims against private individuals and entities. Different rules apply if your claim is against the government, and you must notify the government of your intent to file before you actually move forward with a claim. In general, claims against the state must commence no later than one year after the injury occurs. If the injury is not immediately known, the clock starts when the injury should have reasonably been discovered. This time frame must not exceed three years.
Statutory Notice Requirements for Different Types of Claims
If you were injured as a result of a defective highway, you have only 90 days to notify the municipality of your injury and your intent to file a claim against them. This is an incredibly short timeframe, and you must move quickly to avoid giving up your right to sue. Upon meeting the notice requirement, you have two years to move forward with your lawsuit.
If you have a dram shop claim, which involves a bar or other venue overserving an individual who then causes injury or death, you have 120 days if the victim was injured. If the victim was incapacitated or killed, there is a 180-day window to send a notice. From there, you have one year to file a lawsuit.
Housing authority claim notices must be sent within six months of the injury, and after the notice is sent, you have two years to file the lawsuit.
Lawsuits against municipal employees can only commence after a notice is sent within six months of the injury. The statute of limitations is then two years. Claims against volunteer firefighters, police officers, and ambulance workers must be preceded by a claim within six months of the injury. After a waiting period of 30 days, you have one year to file a lawsuit.
Begin Your Personal Injury Claim with The Dodd Law Firm
If you’ve been injured due to negligence, don’t wait to file a claim. You could completely lose your shot at compensation. The Dodd Law Firm is here to help you as you fight for justice. Call us at 203-272-1883 or contact us online to set up a consultation now.
Notice requirements also exist in cases against other categories of defendants.
To be sure that you are able recover for injuries that you have sustained, it is important to contact an attorney in a timely fashion. A list of parties against whom there are notice requirements and deadlines is provided below.
|Type of Case||Notice Deadline|
|Injury caused by Defective Road or Sidewalk||90 days|
|Dram Shop (negligent service of alcohol by a bar)||120 days – 180 days (if the event of death or incapacity)|
|Injury caused by City of Town Employee||6 months|
|Injury caused by a Housing Authority in Connecticut||6 months|
|Injury caused by the State of Connecticut||1 year|
Leave a ReplyWant to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!